Democracy in Action

This weekend is our District Annual Conference. Members from Unitarian Universalist congregations all over our 7-state area will come together for a weekend full of conversation, learning, and business. We’ll have speakers, workshops, awards, and lots of information-sharing as people from large, medium, and small congregations sit down at tables and introduce themselves.

This weekend is also when the delegates from our district congregations do the business of the District. Our bylaws mandate: “The corporation shall hold an annual meeting within the District at a time and place set by the Board of Directors.” That’s why you won’t find us meeting in Honolulu or Mazatlan to avoid any midwestern April snowstorms!

The Business Meeting, which takes place on Saturday, is our time to report on the state of the District to our member congregations. Delegates hear from the Board and the Staff, elect new Board members and members of the Nominating Committee, and pass the next year’s budget. They receive written copies of our Annual Report which highlight the activities and services of the District, and they ask any questions they have.

In this way, we live out the 5th UU Principle: The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and in society at large.

2 Responses to “Democracy in Action”

  1. Carolyn MacDonald Says:

    The cantata was a great finale for the PSD conference. I also particularly liked William Doherty’s presentation.

    Now, on another note – registration and evaluation. Although I registered in advance online, and my PayPal account was charged $120 for registration on March 13, 2007, there was no record of my registration when I arrived. A packet was made up for me, but it didn’t include all of the handouts. As the event progressed, I kept finding things I hadn’t gotten in my packet. I asked one of the volunteer staff the last day about how to get an evaluation form, but she didn’t know.

    I would appreciate receiving an electronic version so I can make my comments for the benefit of this year’s planning committee and future planning committees.

    One of the main things that I would like to see, and which I have written about when I attended other PSD meetings in the Minneapolis area, is an appropriate provision made for meals for vegetarians. At both lunch and dinner on Saturday the hotel “ran out” of the vegetarian options – although I was nowhere near one of the last persons going through the lunch line or being served at a dinner table. This certainly is in contradiction to our UU values.

  2. nheege Says:

    Thanks, Carolyn, for your comments. We are working on the registration question. I will pass along your comments about the food to our next Local Arrangements Committee. I have mailed you a copy of the evaluation form today. It was good to see you.

Leave a Reply

