We’re Proud of What We Do, but We’re Not Satisfied

Hello again, friends.  It’s been more than a month since I posted an entry on the blog, and I apologize. While I was at General Assembly in Portland, I could not access the internet from my motel [don’t believe them when they say “free internet!” It’s not always true.] And the day after I returned, our family from Seattle arrived for a weeklong visit, so I spent my days getting reacquainted with our 20-month-old granddaughter.

Now I’m back at my desk and catching up on emails and all. Here’s one of the pieces I intended to send from GA.

For me, one of the highlights of the last three General Assemblies has been the presentations by the Breakthrough Congregations. For the second time in three years, one of our Prairie Star District congregations was chosen as a Breakthrough Congregation. Since there are only four congregations selected each year, this is quite an honor. This year, All Souls UU Church in Kansas City, Missouri, was featured. Their video told the story of the turn-around of their congregation, from a culture of scarcity and discontent to a culture of possibility and promise. It was quite moving.

Another Breakthrough Congregation for 2007 is Carbondale UU Fellowship, Carbondale, Illinois. On their video, one person made a statement that illustrates the point I’ve been trying to make in my series on Just Treading Water. The statement was, “We’re proud of what we do, but we’re not satisfied.” That, to me, says a lot. It says, “we’re working hard and we’re accomplishing our goals, but we know we have more work to do.”

Friends,  let’s acknowledge that we’ll never fully live out our missions. There will always be more that we can do to move toward our vision of who we could be  and what we could offer to our community. “We’re proud of what we do, but we’re not satisfied.”

Watch for the DVD of all the 2007 Breakthrough Congregations, coming out this fall.

2 Responses to “We’re Proud of What We Do, but We’re Not Satisfied”

  1. John Blevins Says:

    Welcome back!
    I signed up for yor RSS feed, so now I know when you’ve posted!

    We just got back on July 5th from our visits with friends in 3 cities in the NW. We had great weather, and good (but brief) visits. I’m glad you’ve gotten some catch up time wiht grand kids. We missed ours while traveling.

  2. nheege Says:

    Hi, John. Good to hear from you! Enjoy the summer!

Leave a Reply

